This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. You can accept them and continue browsing or review privacy preferences at any time.
fiorgue · International Festival of Organ Mataró Barcelona


Su 14

Array Bach, Mendelssohn and Widor
Ben Van Oosten, organ

Sunday July 14th 21h
Basílica de Santa Maria
Tickets: 3 euros

Ben Van Oosten

Ben van Oosten was born in The Hague in 1955. He studied organ and piano at the Sweelinck Conservatory in Amsterdam and in Paris. Since 1970 his numerous highly successful concert tours have taken Ben van Oosten to the foremost international organ venues, where he has emerged as one of the most remarkable organ virtuosos of our time. In addition to his concert career he gives organ master classes in many countries and is Professor of Organ at Rotterdam Conservatory.

Ben van Oosten has dedicated himself exhaustively to french symphonic organ music. His recordings of the eight organ sonatas of Alexandre Guilmant and the complete organ works of César Franck, Camille Saint-Saëns, Louis Vierne, Charles-Marie Widor and Marcel Dupré have been awarded many international prizes (including the Echo Klassik, Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik, Choc du Monde de la Musique and Diapason d’Or). He is also author of the comprehensive Widor biography, Charles-Marie Widor – Vater der Orgelsymphonie (Charles-Marie Widor – Father of The Organ Symphony).

Because of his services to French organ culture Ben van Oosten was honoured on three occasions by the Société Académique Arts, Sciences, Lettres in Paris. The French government created him Chevalier (1998) and Officier (2011) dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, and in 2010 H.M. the Queen of The Netherlands appointed him Knight in the Order of the Netherlands Lion.

Ben van Oosten is Titular Organist of the Grote Kerk (The big church or Saint Jacobs church) in The Hague and Artistic Director of the international organ festival that takes place annually in this church.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Fantasia and Fugue in G minor BWV 542

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)
Variations Sérieuses in D minor, Op. 54 (1841)
(organ transcription.: Reitze Smits / Ben van Oosten)

Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)
Symphony No 6 in G minor, op.42/2

Actualiza ya tu navegador

O instala un navegador alternativo:

¿Por qué debo actualizar?

Las tecnologías usadas en las nuevas páginas web, poco a poco están dejando de brindar soporte a navegadores antiguos. La visualización de estos sitios con navegadores desactualizados no será óptima.

Un navegador actualizado se encuentra menos vulnerable en aspectos de seguridad frente a los ataques de phishing y publicidad no deseada.